|

 Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) 

 

 Upcoming Meetings

 

Each school board in Ontario is mandated to establish a Special Education Advisory Committee (S.E.A.C.) that is made up of membership nominated by the local associations and approved by the Board. The Superintendent of Special Education Services also attends the S.E.A.C. meetings. The local associations have parental representatives who promote the interests and well-being of pupils with exceptional needs and abilities. S.E.A.C.'s mandate is to make recommendations to the Board in respect of any matter affecting the establishment and development of Special Education programs and services for exceptional pupils of the Board.

SPECIAL EDUCATION SERVICES – Special Education Services are defined in The Education Act as the facilities and resources, including support personnel and equipment deemed necessary for developing and implementing a Special Education program.

Local associations represented on the Board's S.E.A.C.:​​​

  
  
  
Vimla Martinez de Hoz416-925-6136vimlamdh@yahoo.com
Lorraine Cipparrone (Chair)905-631-1233autismhalton.hcdsbseac@gmail.com
Cris Parreira416-696-1035cris.parreira@gmail.com
Dan Hotopeleanu905-802-6851dan@hotopeleanu.com
Michael McDermott905 333 1977mmcdermott@cogeco.ca
Rhonda Quesnel905 699 9805rhondaq@wearcheck.ca
 

 Current S.E.A.C. Members:

 

Cipparrone, Lorraine
Chair
Autism Ontario, Halton Chapter
autismhalton.hcdsbseac@gmail.com

McDermott, Michael
Learning Disabilities Association of Halton
mmcdermott@cogeco.ca

Martinez de Hoz, Vimla
Association for Bright Children (ABC)
Halton Chapter
vimlamdh@yahoo.com

Quesnel, Rhonda
VOICE for hearing impaired children
rhondaq@wearcheck.ca

Parreira, Cris
Easter Seals Ontario
cris.parreira@gmail.com

Hotopeleanu, Dan
Halton Down Syndrome Association
dan@hotopeleanu.com

Rabenda, Diane
Trustee
rabendad@hcdsb.org

Iantomasi, Arlene
Vice Chair
Trustee
IantomasiA@hcdsb.org

Levasseur, Mary-Frances
Member-at-Large
mlevasseur1@cogeco.ca

Rowles, Jim
Member-at-Large
jrowles42@gmail.com

HCDSB