The Special Education Advisory Committee’s (SEAC) mandate is to make recommendations to the Halton Catholic District School Board (HCDSB) in matters affecting the establishment and development of Special Education programs and services for students with exceptional needs.

SEAC is comprised of members nominated by local community associations and that are approved by the HCDSB. Parents that serve on SEAC come from local associations that promote the interests and well-being of students with exceptional needs and abilities.


SEAC Meetings

Members of the public are welcome to send questions in advance of SEAC meetings to seac@hcdsb.org by 4:00 pm on the day of the meeting.

SEAC meetings typically take place on the last Monday of the month unless otherwise posted.  Effective March 22, 2021, all SEAC meetings will be Live Streamed.  Below is the schedule for SEAC meetings for the 2020-2021 School Year.


SEAC Meeting Playlist

Open playlist on YouTube


SEAC SOUNDBYTES

SEAC Soundbytes graphic

To help raise awareness of the Special Education process at HCDSB, SEAC publishes periodic news articles called “SEAC SOUNDBYTES”. You find them on the HCDSB News page.

Latest Posts


SEAC Spirit of Inclusion Award Winners!

The Spirit of Inclusion Award, created by SEAC, is presented each year to an elementary and secondary student who has demonstrated a commitment to school activities and to their community, making their peers feel valued and respected.

We are thrilled to announce that 5 students across HCDSB have been selected for the award this year. Congratulations to the 5 student recipients of the Spirit of Inclusion award during the 2019-2020 school year!

Have a question or need assistance?

All SEAC questions and comments can be directed to the Chair and Vice-Chair at: seac@hcdsb.org​.​​ 


SEAC Members

Brenda Agnew (Chair)
Trustee Representative 
HCDSB
AgnewB@hcdsb.org 

Lisa Anderson
Alternate Representative
Association: Autism Ontario, Halton

Lisa@LisaJoanAnderson.com

Michelle Arteaga
Alternate Representative
Member-at-Large
michelle@liveplayrest.com 

Rick Barreiro
Representative
Association: VOICE for Hearing Impaired Children
rickbarreiro@gmail.com

Marvin Duarte
Trustee Representative
HCDSB
duartem@hcdsb.org

Nancy Guzzo
Trustee Alternate
HCDSB
guzzon@hcdsb.org

Dan Hotopeleanu
Representative
Association: Halton Down Syndrome Association
dan@hotopeleanu.com

Helena Karabela
Trustee Alternate
HCDSB
karabelah@hcdsb.org

Jessica Lim
Alternate Representative
Association for Bright Children (ABC)
Jessicalim752@gmail.com 

Andrea Louca-Ricci
Alternate Representative
Member-at-Large
a_ricci@me.com

Maria Lourenco (Vice Chair)
Representative
Association for Bright Children (ABC)
lourencoowen@hotmail.com

Paul Moran
Representative
Member-at-Large
jpaulmoran@rogers.com

Rhonda Quesnel
Alternate Representative
Association: VOICE for Hearing Impaired Children
rhonda.quesnel@wearcheck.com

Diane Rabenda
Representative
Member-at-Large
dianerabenda@bell.net

Liezil R.S.
Representative
Association: Autism Ontario, Halton
liezilrs.seac@gmail.com

Samantha Sweet
Representative
Learning Disabilities Association of Halton-Hamilton

samantha_sweet@ldahh.ca

Tracy Veale
Representative
Association: FASworld Canada
tracy.veale@gmail.com

TBD
Representative
Association: Easter Seals Ontario​​​

TBD
Alternate Representative
Association: Easter Seals Ontario
cris.parreira@gmail.com 

TBD
Alternate Representative
Association: Halton Down Syndrome Association