The Special Education Advisory Committee’s (SEAC) mandate is to make recommendations to the Halton Catholic District School Board (HCDSB) in matters affecting the establishment and development of Special Education programs and services for students with exceptional needs.

SEAC is comprised of members nominated by local community associations and that are approved by the HCDSB. Parents that serve on SEAC come from local associations that promote the interests and well-being of students with exceptional needs and abilities.


December 14, 2020 SEAC Meeting


SEAC Spirit of Inclusion Award Winners!

The Spirit of Inclusion Award, created by SEAC, is presented each year to an elementary and secondary student who has demonstrated a commitment to school activities and to their community, making their peers feel valued and respected.

We are thrilled to announce that 5 students across HCDSB have been selected for the award this year. Congratulations to the 5 student recipients of the Spirit of Inclusion award during the 2019-2020 school year!

Have a question or need assistance?

All SEAC questions and comments can be directed to the Chair and Vice-Chair at: seac@hcdsb.org​.​​ 


SEAC Members

Brenda Agnew
Trustee Representative 
HCDSB
AgnewB@hcdsb.org 

Michelle Arteaga
Alternate Representative
Member-at-Large
michelle@liveplayrest.com 

Debra Bardon
Representative
Association: Autism Ontario, Halton
debra.wiencis@gmail.com

Rick Barreiro
Representative
Association: VOICE for Hearing Impaired Children
rickbarreiro@gmail.com

TBD
Representative
Learning Disabilities Association of Halton

Marvin Duarte
Trustee Representative
HCDSB
duartem@hcdsb.org

Nancy Guzzo
Trustee Alternate
HCDSB
guzzon@hcdsb.org

Dan Hotopeleanu
Representative
Association: Halton Down Syndrome Association
dan@hotopeleanu.com

Helena Karabela
Trustee Alternate
HCDSB
karabelah@hcdsb.org

Jessica Lim
Alternate Representative
Association for Bright Children (ABC)
Jessicalim752@gmail.com 

Andrea Louca-Ricci
Alternate Representative
Member-at-Large
a_ricci@me.com

Maria Lourenco
Representative
Association for Bright Children (ABC)
lourencoowen@hotmail.com

Paul Moran
Representative
Member-at-Large
jpaulmoran@rogers.com

Cris Parreira
Alternate Representative
Association: Easter Seals Ontario
cris.parreira@gmail.com 

Rhonda Quesnel
Alternate Representative
Association: VOICE for Hearing Impaired Children
rhonda.quesnel@wearcheck.com

Diane Rabenda
Representative
Member-at-Large
dianerabenda@bell.net

TBD
Alternate Representative
Association: Halton Down Syndrome Association

TBD
Representative
Association: Autism Ontario, Halton

Tracy Veale
Representative
Association: FASworld Canada
tracy.veale@intertek.com

TBD
Representative
Association: Easter Seals Ontario​​​