Welcome to Halton!

You may register your child at your local Catholic school office. A Youth Settlement Worker that speaks your language will be able to assist you!

Our Youth Settlement Program offers services for newcomer students: school registration, translations, and help with access to community services. ​

Need help with language translations or registering your child?​

LanguageSettlement WorkerEmailPhone Number
Arabic, EnglishJalil Hussinhussinj@hcdsb.org905-847-5113
ext. 4
Arabic, French, EnglishLina Sakkabsakkabl@hcdsb.org905-847-5113
ext. 1
Hindi, Punjabi, Urdu, EnglishUzma Kaziukazi@hmcconnections.com905-464-5930
ext. 249
Korean, EnglishCatherine Leeclee@hmcconnections.com647-237-8553
905-842-2486
ext. 246
Mandarin, EnglishRui Caicair@hcdsb.org905-847-5113
ext. 2
Mandarin,Cantonese, EnglishChristine Shencshen@hmcconnections.com905-842-2486
Mandarin,Cantonese, EnglishCarole Liucliu@hmcconnections.com647-237-8552
Spanish, EnglishLuz-Elena Ariasariasl@hcdsb.org905-847-5113
ext. 6
Spanish, EnglishDiana Bellodbello@hmcconnections.com647-239-8553
Tagalog, EnglishCaren Menchavezcmenchavez@hmcconnections.com289-259-9207
Urdu, EnglishSamina Rathoresrathore@hmcconnections.com289-259-4960
905-842-2486
ext. 268

Documents Required for Registration at School


Programs & Services for Newcomers 

Newcomer Youth Program

Our HCDSB Youth Workers plan various arts, cultural and recreational activities to help nurture self-confidence in newcomer teens, aged 13-18.

Students are invited to register for their chosen activity by contacting the Youth Settlement Worker assigned to their school. Please note that the Newcomer Youth Program takes place after school.​  

Settlement & Support Program for International Students

Activities, workshops, field trips and cultural excursions are planned for international students through the Settlement and Support Program.

Students interested in signing up may contact Rui Cai, Settlement Worker for the International Student Program at cair@hcdsb.org, or through phone at: 905-847-5113. Visit the International Student Program website​ for more information. ​

Settlement Services for Newcomer Families 

Settlement services are offered at all school locations to assist students and families as they adjust to the Ontario school system. 

Settlement counsellors are also stationed at each secondary school (once per week) to meet and assist newcomer parents and students. Counsellors are available to plan daytime information sessions for youth, and evening workshops for families.


Welcome Centre logo

Welcome Centre 

Are you new to our school board or Canada? Are you looking to register your child for school? 

Our Welcome Centres in Oakville and Milton provide students and their families new to Canada, with guidance and support as they become familiar with the Region of Halton, and their new school environment.​​ 

Some of the services offered at our Welcome Centres include:

  • Math and language assessments for students
  • Access to community services and resources for parents
  • Access to the Youth Settlement Program​

Before you contact us at the Welcome Centre, we recommend that you contact your home school directly to register first.

Welcome Centre Locations

HALTON SOUTH
255 Morden Road
Oakville, ON  L6K 2S2
Phone: 905-847-5113
welcomecentre@hcdsb.org​

HALTON NORTH​
2800 High Point Dr.
Milton, ON  L9T 6P4, Suite 212
Phone: 905-693-0623
welcomecentre@hcdsb.org

*NOTE: Phone lines are currently down at our HCDSB Welcome Centres. Parents interested in getting in touch can contact us through email at: welcomecentre@hcdsb.org

Need help?

If you need help with English, Youth Settlement Workers​​ ​(see list above) help newcomer families with their new surroundings by offering access to information on education, health care, employment services, housing, etc. Translation services are also available as part of the program.


Questions or Concerns?

If you have any questions or need more information, please contact Luz Elena Arias, Supervisor, Settlement Services at (905) 847-5113, ext 6. ​Follow us on Twitter @HCDSBWelcome!​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​


The HCDSB Welcome Centres are funded by the Government of Ontario through Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)​